Craft It Yourself

Craft it yourself series – Altered Box – Paint effect

Pinnable images - Tech 1

Hiya crafty friends,

I love crafting, but as we all know, it can be a very expensive hobby to have. So with this in mind, I thought I’d start a brand new series called ‘Craft It Yourself’, with the aim of experimenting making my own craft supplies and sharing with you my successes (or fails) and how I did them with lots of step by step pictures.

My first project is going to be an altered box and I will be using as many ‘Craft It Yourself’ supplies as I can.

So first up is:

Weathered/Aged Wood Paint Effect

Ingredient needed:

Water,

PVA Glue,

Acrylic Paint – Light tan (I mixed my own), dark brown and white

Distress Ink – Tea Dye & Vintage Photo

For my first project in the series I will be altering a plain wooden book shaped box.

20150811_114002As it was plain untreated wood, I wanted to put a base coat on the box before I started the effect. For this I mixed my own colour with acrylic paints that wasn’t too far away from the box colour itself.

I removed the hinges so the box is now in two pieces. Painted the whole outside of the box and allowed to dry. I also did a second coat. Now the the box is all ready for it’s paint effect.

For the first part of the process I used Burnt Umber acrylic paint all over the outside and allowed it to dry completely.

Doing one half of the box at a time, I coated them with a thin layer of PVA Glue. Leaving it for a minute or two but not letting the glue dry. It needs to be tacky.

20150813_122608I then painted a layer of white acrylic paint over the tacky glue. As you can see in the picture below the ‘effect’ started to happen quite quickly and had already started to ‘crack’ by the time I took the photo

Using a heat gun helps the process along and here’s how they look when they are dry.

20150813_18342820150813_184110

To give an aged look I used Distress Ink. I started with Tea Dye, using my trusted shaving brush (well this series is all about being frugal) ๐Ÿ™‚ and brushed all the edges inwards towards the centre. This takes the edge off the white.

I then used Vintage Photo to darken the edges

Do the same with the ‘spine’ and dry with the aid of a heat gun.

Now that the paint effect is completed we need to protect it. And all we need to make our own ‘varnish’ is:

water

PVA glue.

I used an old glue stick cap as my measure, which was 1 part water to 3 parts glue. Stir the mixture really well until it’s mixed together.

Add a coat over the paint effect and allow to dry overnight.

Once dry replace the hinges and there you go, we are ready for the next step

I am hoping to do this series bi-weekly, so hope you can join me for the second part of the series on 13th September.

Happy crafting

7c58d-signiture

2 thoughts on “Craft it yourself series – Altered Box – Paint effect”

Leave a Reply

