How to make an up-cycled trinket Box

Hiya craft friends,

It’s great making use of something that would normally be thrown away, and making it pretty…well that’s a bonus! 🙂

Women of a certain age all know we all need a little help along the way, and most of use have our little pots of cream on our dresser. Well, how about making them into a useful little additions to the dresser when they are empty.

I’ve got a little soft spot for anything makeup and skincare and have tried lots of creams over the years. This was one of the cheaper ones I’ve tried, but when I had emptied it, it seemed a shame to throw away this particular one. So, I decided to upcycle it.

 

I was quite lucky that with just a little elbow grease and wet wipe I was able to remove the writing from the lid without marking the clear plastic.

 

 

The lid had an inlay that was easily removable, so I started by separating them.

 

 

 

My mum found this lovely tissue paper and gave me a few sheets. I love the butterflies on it.

 

  
I placed the top layer of the lid onto the tissue paper to decide which part of the design I wanted to use.

 

Once I decided on the best placement I then placed the bottom layer of the lid under the design.

 

 

I then placed the top layer and began to slowly and gently push down so the tissue paper was being sandwiched between the two.

 

 

Once I pushed as much as it would go, I turned it over. The blue needed to be pushed a little more until it was flush with the clear layer.

 

The excess tissue paper was cut away…

 

…but this left a untidy edge.

 

To neaten this I used a nail file in light, small circular movements…

 

…which flattened and neatened  the edge

 

 

 

 

Thank you as always for stopping by
Happy craftng
One thought on “How to make an up-cycled trinket Box

Leave a Reply

